Best Old-Style Bumper Jacks and High-Lift Alternatives

If you are looking for an old-style bumper jack, these five ratcheting high-lift farm jacks are modern alternatives for certain vehicles and recovery tasks. They are not necessarily designed to lift from a classic car’s bumper: use one only at a manufacturer-approved lifting point. The VEVOR is best for a shorter, 7,000-pound-capacity option; the Hi-Lift is best for buyers seeking a 48-inch all-cast model; and the DNA Motoring offers a stated lifting range up to 41.3 inches.

Product Best suited for Listed capacity
VEVOR 33-Inch Farm Jack Shorter lift range and heavy loads 7,000 lb
OUTGOODS 33-Inch Farm Jack Buyers prioritizing a 30-inch maximum range 7,000 lb
Hi-Lift 48-Inch All-Cast Jack All-cast construction Not specified in provided features
XtremepowerUS 48-Inch Farm Jack Multiple utility tasks 6,600 lb
DNA Motoring 48-Inch Farm Jack Extended stated lifting range 6,600 lb

VEVOR 33-Inch Utility Farm Jack

VEVOR 33-inch utility farm jack

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Drivers and equipment owners who need a 7,000-pound-capacity ratcheting jack with a more compact 33-inch overall size. The listed lifting range is 5.12 to 28 inches, which is useful to compare against the required lift height and approved lifting point on the vehicle.

The product features describe structural-steel construction, a galvanized anti-rust coating, and use for lifting, pulling, clamping, winching, and spreading. It is selected for its stated capacity and clearly defined lifting range.

Limitation: Its maximum listed lift is 28 inches, less than the ranges stated for the 48-inch options. It is a farm jack, not automatically a direct replacement for a classic bumper jack.

OUTGOODS 33-Inch Ratcheting Jack

OUTGOODS 33-inch ratcheting farm jack

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Buyers who want a 33-inch jack with a listed 4.13-to-30-inch lifting range and 7,000-pound capacity. Its stated maximum height is two inches greater than the VEVOR’s, while its overall size remains in the same 33-inch category.

The supplied features describe steel construction, anti-rust treatment, and integrated casting with 20 mm ratchet teeth. The product is presented for tractors, trucks, heavy machinery, and maintenance or roadside recovery tasks, making it a relevant option for users comparing high-lift utility jacks.

Limitation: The product description mentions a hydraulic system, while also describing ratcheting operation. Confirm the operating design and instructions with the seller before use.

Hi-Lift 48-Inch All-Cast Jack

Hi-Lift 48-inch all-cast jack

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Buyers who specifically want an all-cast jack with a 48-inch overall length. The listed features identify cast-iron components, a top winch connector clamp, a powder-coated finish, zinc-plated hardware, and a two-piece handle and socket.

This model is selected for its explicitly stated all-cast construction and included winch connector clamp. Those details may matter to buyers comparing build materials and utility features, rather than choosing solely by stated load capacity.

Limitation: The supplied product features do not state a load capacity or lifting range. Verify those specifications and confirm that the jack suits the intended vehicle and lifting point before purchasing.

XtremepowerUS 48-Inch High-Lift Jack

XtremepowerUS 48-inch high-lift farm jack

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Buyers looking for a 48-inch utility jack with a stated 6,600-pound capacity and several intended uses. The features list lifting, pulling, clamping, and winching, along with off-road recovery, farm work, and equipment maintenance.

The jack is described as heavy-duty structural steel with a corrosion-resistant powder-coated finish. Choose this option if those four listed functions and its stated capacity match the job better than a shorter jack.

Limitation: The supplied features do not give a specific lifting range. Check the product details for the height needed, and do not assume that its 48-inch overall length is the same as its usable lift height.

DNA Motoring 48-Inch Universal Farm Jack

DNA Motoring 48-inch universal farm jack

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Buyers who need a longer stated lifting range: 5.5 to 41.3 inches. Its listed capacity is 6,600 pounds, and the features also identify a 48-inch overall height, 4.1-inch base width, 6.8-inch length, and 32-inch handle.

The product is described as steel with anti-corrosion treatment and rust prevention. It is selected for buyers comparing maximum stated lift and handle dimensions across 48-inch farm jacks.

Limitation: A long lifting range does not establish that the jack is suitable for a particular bumper or vehicle. Check the approved lift point, load requirements, and operating instructions first.

Buying Guide: Choosing An Old-Style Bumper Jack Alternative

Is a farm jack the same as a vintage bumper jack?

No. The products above are ratcheting farm or high-lift jacks. A traditional bumper jack is a different style of vehicle jack, and not every modern bumper or vehicle structure can safely support lifting. Consult the vehicle manual and use only approved lift points. Never select a jack based on appearance or overall height alone.

How much capacity and lift height do you need?

Compare the jack’s stated capacity with the vehicle or equipment requirements, and check the usable lifting range against the height needed at the lifting point. The listed capacities range from 6,600 to 7,000 pounds where provided. The Hi-Lift listing supplied here does not specify capacity or range, so verify those details before deciding.

Which size is better: 33 or 48 inches?

A 33-inch model may suit buyers who prefer a shorter jack and need no more than its listed maximum lift. A 48-inch model may be worth comparing when a greater lift range is required, but overall length alone does not confirm usable lift. Review both the operating range and storage dimensions.

What safety details matter before lifting?

Use a stable, level surface and follow the manufacturer’s instructions. Keep people clear of the load, and do not work beneath a vehicle supported only by a jack; use properly rated supports where required. A jack’s stated capacity does not confirm that a bumper, body panel, or other contact point can bear the load.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I use a high-lift farm jack on a classic car bumper?

Only if the vehicle manufacturer approves that lifting point and the jack is suitable for it. The products listed are farm jacks, not confirmed replacements for every classic bumper jack.

Which listed jack has the highest stated capacity?

The VEVOR and OUTGOODS 33-inch jacks each list a capacity of 7,000 pounds.

Which product lists the greatest lifting range?

The DNA Motoring jack lists a range of 5.5 to 41.3 inches. Verify the stated range and suitability for the specific application before use.

Does a 48-inch jack lift 48 inches?

Not necessarily. Overall jack length and usable lifting range are different measurements. Check the product’s stated lifting range.

Can these jacks be used for winching or pulling?

Some listings describe winching or pulling as intended functions, including the VEVOR and XtremepowerUS models. Follow each product’s instructions and use it only for functions the manufacturer specifies.